SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
thecre8v1

Help! I need a tomato Doctor…STAT!

thecre8v1
last year

I’m in zone 9b/10a (Sunset 16, but on some maps,also looks like I’m on the border of 14🤷‍♀️?)

This is my first year with my new raised beds and I got a little over-ambitious with 14 varieties of tomatoes 🤦‍♀️ that I started from seed in my new greenhouse. Some of the seeds were gifted to me by my son’s French girlfriend and they grew faster and heartier than the domestic seeds 🤔. Everything was going so well until ‘Tetons de Venus’ started drooping and sagging like…well….mature “tetons”! 🤭 In June, it had been extremely, uncharacteristically, hot for a few days, and then cooler and
windy, so I thought it was just enviornmental stress. I guess I compounded it, because I overwatered. Every bed is on a separate drip system, so I turned it off for a few days. But now, the two other plants (‘Anna Russe’ and a yellow cherry tomato) are drooping and curling too. Anna seems like she lost some fruit, but that might be squirrels.

In another bed, ‘coeur de boeuf’ started getting yellow patches on the leaves and now THAT’s affecting other plants as well. There are tons of green tomatoes that seem to be frozen in time and not ripening…except for a few ‘Prećoce de Quimper’, but prećoce = early, so that makes sense, I guess?

I think I’ve “loved them too much”…fertilizer, egg shells, banana peels, Epson salt, dutifully pinching out the suckers…

Here’s some photos: the first is ‘Tetons de Venus and the second is Coeur de Boeuf.

Comments (16)

• nandina
    last year

I may have an answer to this question. Horticulture is in my genes, thanks to my father who was a former Editor of Horticulture magazine. I have enjoyed every aspect of my horticultural work through the years.