SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kathleen_smith6227819

Anyone know anything about Fidelitly and Guaranty?

Kathsgrdn
last year

Had a financial appointment (zoom) today with a federal employee-based company, so it was free to me. The woman suggested I move my TSP to this company. She doesn't work for Fidelity but who knows if she is getting something from them for suggesting them? I did a big chunk of it but am now having second thoughts. I can still cancel it. She told me there is a 5% guarantee return for the first 10 years, plus whatever the market is doing at the time. That 5% is actually only 3.85% after fees.

I thought it was just an IRA and didn't realize it was an annuity until I googled it. It is both? Which I don't understand. A annuity that invests in the stock market, I guess? I have very little knowledge when it comes to investments. I don't know if I'm freaked out because I've heard annuities aren't the best thing to put your money in or because it is most of my retirement savings that is going into this thing, which isn't a ton, but still.

I'm thinking of retiring in just 2 years as opposed to 5 I had been planning on and that's why she said I should move it now. You have to be 59 1/2 to move it prior to retirement so I'm okay there. She also suggested I move my remaining and future tsp funds to the crappy G fund because the stock market is so bad. I'm a little relunctant to do that. The interest is practically non existant in that fund but it would be a lot safer.

Just wondering what you all think? This fund pays me a certain amount for life. Not going to be a ton a month but it will help. I can also take out lump sums it will just decrease the monthly payments after the withdrawel by so much. There are fees if you take out more than $10,000 a year.

Comments (48)

• sephia_wa
    last year

What does your financial advisor say? Do you have one?

• Kathsgrdn
    Original Author
    last year

No.

• Related Discussions