SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
holly23675

Can I reframe this doorway myself?

Holly
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

I am remodeling my kitchen by completely gutting it and starting from scratch. The basic layout currently consists of a galley with two parallel rows of cabinets that are anchored to a load-bearing wall at one end. This wall has a very dated arched doorway that is 48" wide. The space between the two rows of cabinets is 60". Below is a rough (very rough) sketch to give you an idea of what it currently looks like and what I want to change. The existing wall edge and the doorway are outlined in black. (FYI, this is not to scale. Please forgive the kindergarten art quality. I am not an artist).

I want to move the cabinets in by 12 inches (see orange arrows and orange dash marks). This will give us enough room to allow for the countertop to hang past the cabinets on the other side, allow for seating at the island. Or is it a bar since it would be anchored to the wall on one side? Anyway, once the cabinets are moved over, the edge of the counter, where the seats will be, will then line up with the edge of wall (see left side of pic). This is important for two reasons: 1) it would prevent the counter from sticking out beyond the walls edge and being banged into as people round the corner from the hallway that is on the other side of that wall; and 2) the living room on the other side of the island/bar is on the small side and there just isn't enough space for island seating unless we make the kitchen more narrow.

Even with the reconfiguration, the space between the two rows of cabinets would still be 48", plenty of room! So, easy peasy, right? We get island/bar seating that doesn't interfere with the flow of the space.