SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nash_stanton

Kitchen Cabinet Buying Advice (for noobs)

Nash Stanton
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

Not that I'm a pro, but I wanted to give you some tips in 2020.

1) Do homework up front. Before you get quotes, we took measurements and laid out the kitchen how we wanted it. It took 6-8 attempts. 5D Kitchen Design Planner ($6 a month) is all it took us to visualize what we want and to do all the work upfront). All the KDs had to do is fit cabinets within the space. If you don't have this ability, then HIRE a kitchen designer to take care of you. USE THIS HIGHLY EXCELLANT FORUM to get advice! This forum literally designed our kitchen!

2) Get quotes. Don't feel bad if you need 3-5 quotes, but get quotes! Don't go over 3-5 because you're just wasting your (and the KDs) time, but you really need to understand a good range of what you're getting.

4) Things that don't matter: Plywood vs "Furniture board". I just ripped out 30 year old "Furniture board" cabinets. The construction remained 100% perfect. This was a rental house for several house before I moved in as well. Don't pay for what you don't need. And of course, "plywood vs furniture board" is a complex topic where plywood doesn't automatically mean better. Don't get sucked in the trap of cheap Chinese "all wood" cabinets (some cabinet places in your town may press on this fact). It's the construction method that really matters.

• a) Example: Kraftmaid Vantage offers "all plywood" construction. Must be better, right? But these are "stock sized" cabinets. Would you rather have plywood construction and be stuck only with factory cabinets that fit with weird sizes here and there? Would you be rather stuck with their "all or nothing" slat vs shaker door styles where you don't have a choice if you wanted a shaker top row if your top row is smaller? Keep in mind the trade-offs.