SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jasdip1

The Palm Oil and Butter debate

Jasdip
3 years ago

My farmer friend that I follow on Facebook, "Farmer Tim" a local dairy farmer posted this lengthy post today. He's fed up with all the misinformation.

Deep breaths.

Ok let’s chew the fat - what’s up with butter?

I’m a dairy farmer so I have a vested interest in this topic but I’m also a consumer just like you and I know that butter consistency has become a hot topic. I have been following this closely and here is what I have learned so far...

As you know, I am not into politics or mud slinging but I need you to know that the root of this issue was born out of politics with an agenda and it drives a knife deep into the heart of every dairy farmer I know. Politics aside...

*Cows are NOT fed palm OIL. Palm oil is used in thousands of products produced by humans like margarine, Nutella, cookies, soap, shampoo, chocolate, lipstick, chips, and even bread. Palm oil is NOT added to butter when it’s processed. Milk and butter are palm oil free!!! As an aside I recognize that there are concerns with the palm oil industry in general even if there are sustainable sources but the focus of this post is on butter hardness.

*Cows can be fed small amounts of palm FAT (not palm oil), also known as palmitic acid. Palm fat is a by-product of the human food palm oil industry so in essence it would be wasted otherwise and sent to land fill. It can be used to offset energy deficits in cows when they are at the height of their lactation to benefit their health and make them more efficient. Palm fat is NOT added to butter when it’s processed either.

*Cows naturally produce palm fat regardless of it being added to their feed or not. In fact, about 1/3 of their naturally-produced fat is palm fat! This fact blew my mind