SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
arcy_gw

HIPA/FERPA in times of pandemic

arcy_gw
3 years ago

I work in a school. Our school system is fully open right now. Our county viral numbers are on the line and have been going down so we remain open. I found out last week our school system (four buildings k-21 have had four positive cases of COVID-19 since we started school in August. Yesterday I got an internal memo letting us know we now had a positive case in my building. The student who went home ILL is not to be named or speculated about. The school checked class seating charts and sent "close contact" students home also. Mandatory 14 day quarantine. I stand in the back of the room watching students mill about before/after class. They are CLUELESS to social distancing. Unless made to stay in their seats they CANNOT distance, but truly their seats are not even a foot from their peers so in the long run it's all smoke and mirrors. From the memo it is apparent many classrooms are prone to this milling and small group work and general 'who knows' who the ill student REALLY came in contact with. Well IMHO if I knew who said student was I WOULD KNOW if I had been in close contact with them!! I understand the students privacy rights. STILL if decreasing spread is the GOAL than seems obvious to let that name out so we can police ourselves!! Is this too much to ask?

Comments (11)

• Elmer J Fudd
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

arcy, I agree with you in part but not entirely.