SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jaykaym

Review of IKEA kitchen experience

Jaykaym
4 years ago

Having just completed an IKEA install of my new kitchen I'd thought I'd review my experience for others thinking about using IKEA. The IKEA install was part of a much larger kitchen remodel - removing walls, raising the ceiling, all new wiring, and moving ductwork - but this review is only on my IKEA design and installation experience.

I started playing with the IKEA software way before I was ready to do the final design. For the final design, we eventually used both Inspired Kitchen Design (IKD) and the IKEA in-store designer. Inspired Kitchen Design helped me think about what I really needed/wanted and what some of the tradeoffs were. Paulina, my IKD designer, was very responsive and answered all my questions. By the time I got to IKEA to work with the in-store designer I was just confirming my IKD design with the Ikea staff. My contractor liked working with the plans provided by IKD much more than the IKEA plans as they were more detailed and complete and it was worth the price just to have those plans available.

On my first visit to IKEA to do planning we discovered that the door front that I wanted was being discontinued and we needed to make a decision THAT DAY or risk not getting those doors. Because of some family issues we really couldn't commit to the plan, the delivery, etc. at that time so we risked not getting the door fronts. At our NEXT visit about 6 weeks later, we found that there were not enough of our door fronts available any longer and we quickly picked a new color scheme for the kitchen. (Shiny white Ringhult and shiny dark blue-black Jarsta doors) Making a whole new color/door selection in that visit was stressful but I'm happier with my new selection.