SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wildingout

Help Turning Cleared Red Spruce Forest Into Native Pollinator Garden

wildingout
4 years ago

Hello,

First time posting. I am an amateur gardening enthusiast with a fun project ahead and I could use all of the help I can get. I am working on land in southern coastal Maine. It is an old growth Red Spruce forest. In the area I'm going to work on, the trees got knocked down in the Patriot's Day storm Nor'easter in April of 2007. a couple of years later, the trees were cut down to stumps and removed. Since then, more trees have fallen and some of them have been cleared as well.

Other than that, the open areas have been totally wild and have begun to fill up with whatever seeds are blowing around or nearby.

Species that I have identified as existing at the moment:

Ornamental Grasses

Troublesome sedge

Early Lowbush Blueberry

Common Rush

Japanese Barberry

Oxalis Stricta

American Raspberry

Eastern Hayscented Fern

River Birch

Red Spruce Trees

Bayberry

Pin Cherry Trees

Mosses, Ferns, other grasses, and probably a lot more I'm not finding.

I have the pleasure of visiting this land once or twice a year. Always in late July for a couple of weeks, and occasionally once or twice during another time of the year. When I visit in July there are almost no flowers in bloom and almost everything is green. It's nice and natural and I'd like to add some color and pollinators.

My goal is to repopulate a lot of this area with native pollinators that ideally already grow close by as well as with others that are native to southern Maine. I want to support the bee, butterfly, and bird communities as well as experience a visually appealing wild flower garden when I visit in July. I also want the bees etc. to have pollinators to enjoy in the spring and fall, but mostly in July.