SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ritaweeda

Anyone Else Guilty of Underusing Your Technology Features?

ritaweeda
4 years ago

I'm the first to admit I'm not tech savvy. I don't even have a smartphone. For years I had to use a computer to do my job, i.e., data entry, word, excel, access, email, internet etc. But all those features that come with a computer now, I haven't a clue. I have so many features and programs that came with my laptop that I haven't even looked at. For instance, I clicked on one this morning just to see what it was and learned that I have all kinds of software to manipulate videos and burn discs, etc. (I've had this laptop for 3 years now.) And there are a lot more I haven't a clue. I realize I need to branch out but I really didn't get a computer for all those things anyway. Am I alone in this or are there any other dinosaurs out there who are guilty of this?

Comments (92)

• Elmer J Fudd
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

The convenience of the smartphone features I mentioned is for when you're NOT home. Not for when you're home. If you don't have a smartphone then you're not "under-using your technology features", the topic of this thread

If you do have a smartphone, you can insure an excellent connection at home by turning on its Wifi feature. In addition to that giving you a sure data connection, many/most smartphones, other than those from the low cost virtual carriers, will route telephone calls over Wifi if the cell signal is dodgy. You have to turn on that feature for it to work but it's available on both iPhones and on Android phones.

Even if you don't have such a phone, most of the major carriers will provide a "network extender" for home use - it's a device that functions like your own personal cell tower (though they're just the size of a router), the device broadcasts a cell signal for your use, the phone call gets routed over your internet connection. If you have a Sat internet connection, it won't work.