SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_902558381

Decor advice for small studio with ocean view

HU-902558381
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hi, I downsized from a one bedroom to a small studio (for the view!). Before I moved in, when it was empty, lol, it was so bright and airy. Now that I moved my stuff in, it feels cramped, cluttered, and heavy.

I got rid of a lot of things, and as I look at my actual stuff, now I don’t have too much, but it certainly looks/feels like it. I wonder if it’s my decor/design? I created a mood board, and I’m drawn to more-so minimalist rooms with a touch of bohemian. I LOVE white flowy curtains, wooden/woven textures, and low beds. I’m thinking of contact papering my desk with ‘teak’ and getting a lower bed frame...

I’m not good at decorating and I can’t really figure out what I’m doing wrong here... would love some advice before I make anymore new purchases. Also, I work from home, and the couch is new :)

Does this room feel heavy and cluttered To you? I’d be grateful for any suggestions to help me get it to relaxing, comfortable and airy :)

Comments (75)

• lizziesma
    5 years ago

Maybe sofa at foot of bed, desk on current sofa wall, mirror above desk to reflect awesome view, tv still in corner. I think clearing surfaces a bit would help lots. LOVE that view.

HU-902558381 thanked lizziesma
  • Sharyn
    5 years ago

I think you need smaller, airier bedside lamps. And I think those large floor lanterns next to the couch are taking up valuable walk space.

This is a beautiful space to work with!

HU-902558381 thanked Sharyn
  • Related Discussions

Need advice for decorating a studio apartment using this sofa

Q

Comments (21)