SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mcfaunm

Looking for gardening advice. Perennial Flower layout for zone 6.

mcfaunm
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

I live 8-10 miles North of Boston. I have very low soil areas due to ledge. There are actual rocks in my basement. Land slopes a lot. More then appears in the picture. I would have to measure the height over the distance to get a more precise idea but it’s pretty steep by the bushes (N top of pic) after the bushes that I hate but hold soil, it drops right off to the neighbors. I have built walls with stones which are very abundant. They are everywhere....

My grandmothe had a beautiful rock garden which is now a weed garden. Some plants still manage to come up every year. I want to tackle the easier side first. I have been gardening for 3 years, so I’m reading and learning more every year. Last summer, I moved so many plants around then relocated, etc. So, this year I want to have an idea of a layout and go with it.

Currently, I have 4 Salvias, 6 miniature rose bushes, Asian lilies, Hydrangeas (front yard), 2- Day lilies, 4 Asters, Lupine, Tropicana Black (only 1), Silver Mound (1), 2 cone flowers, 4 Plumbago, 2 Yellow Ceoropsis, one Red Tickseeds (Big Bang Mercury).