SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mary_nelson982

My family room and breakfast nook need help!

Mary Nelson
6 years ago

I hope I'm not posting this twice. I tried starting a discussion yesterday but am not seeing it posted so I am trying again. I am new to Houzz and would love some design help for my family room and breakfast nook.

The sofa and rug in the family room are new so I’m planning to keep them. I’d like to replace the coffee table, leather chair and TV stand. I love the West Elm 70” Reclaimed Wood & Lacquer Media Console, but I’m not in love with the price. I found some DIY plans online (image below) and a wood-worker who I think can make it for less money. Plus I like the idea of spending my money locally, and maybe using some up-cycled materials. I’d have the console doors stained in a medium-ish finish to pick up the tan color in the rug.

I also like the West Elm Duffield swivel chair (image below). Was thinking to get one of those in a dark grey fabric and place it sort of where the leather chair is now. I’d like to get a second one to put next to the fireplace, in the corner near the TV but my husband say no one will sit in it. On a regular basis we have 2-3 people in the room watching TV. On an occasional basis I want to be able to seat 5 people for conversation.

Is there a better layout for this room to get seating for five?

I also need a rug and round table for the breakfast nook. The curtains in the bayed area are coming down after winter. I have a table design in mind (image below) – again having the wood-worker make it for me. The finish would be all stain, not painted, to match the stained part of the media console. I’m a little concerned I’m leaning too far toward a farmhouse look. I’d like to keep it more transitional.

Finally, any suggestions for a rug for the breakfast nook that would complement my existing rug and the furniture?