SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
eponymouse

Miele: Disappointing "Longevity" and High Cost of Parts

eponymouse
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

This is a quote from the Miele website: "When you buy a Miele appliance you are choosing longevity and the best in quality." Let me say that Miele Customer Service (in the person of Kiri, with whom I spoke 1/2/18, in the early afternoon) has a rather different idea of what constitutes "longevity" than I do. In addition, I am extremely disappointed with their Customer Service in terms of backing up their products – or, at least, my
very expensive, high-end convection oven -- with affordable replacement parts.

I own a set of Miele Masterchef double wall ovens, and have been very happy with them, aside from some minor issues with temperature regulation. I am a serious baker, and use the ovens regularly. I even use the ovens’ Masterchef features. A few weeks ago, I broken the glass on the outer door (outer door only) of the lower oven, and called my reliable local repair guy about fixing it. He regularly works on upscale appliances, including Miele -- but even he said he "about had a heart attack" when Miele quoted him a cost of $750 for a replacement part. I have scoured eBay and the internet and have found no better pricing.