SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zvreed

Tell me the brutal truth - Traditional Southern Revival Home 2

thechubster
6 years ago

I've been cruising houzz for a few years but this is my first post, so hello helpful people! Anyway my wife and I are in the beginning stages of building our forever home, or at least we hope it will be. We own 80 acres and have already picked a nice flat open area of about 5 acres for building. The majority of the rest of the land is wooded (we're in Missouri). Now I know there is a big push around here to use an architect (and I get why) but we would like to use a stock plan and maybe makes some small tweaks. My brother is a builder and will be GC on the project.

Keeping that in mind I would like your honest opinion of this house plan. We are a family of five that live a pretty active lifestyle with lots of time spent outdoors. This plan comes with a detached three car garage that we would also build, you can see the it would come off the "breezeway" into the mud room. The picture is of a similar plan that has an upstairs porch, you have to click "elevations" for a shot of this plan.

Things we like about this plan:

1. Plenty of space, each kid gets their own room and our long suffering daughter will get her own bathroom! Two sinks for the boys (the current sink situation is a daily fight).

2. Laundry is in a good proximity to bedrooms and the stairs for upstairs bedrooms.

3. Seems like ample storage/closets

4. We dig the separate mud room

5. Overall look of the exterior and lots of porches

6. Not too many crazy roof angles, we're hoping for a rather simple look

7. We'd use the "den" as a dining room, maybe close off that powder room door being so close to an eating area though!

Not crazy about:

1. The location of the fridge, it's kind of out in no-mans land

2. Would want to add some windows along the other wall in the MBR

3. Maybe delete the "playroom" and just replace with a nice window