SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
robyn_jefferson

HELP! New to succulents, soil has insufficient drainage, gritty mix?

Robyn Jefferson
6 years ago

I need some help! I'm new to succulent parenthood and I have an addiction in a bad way. I've been collecting them within the past month and a half.
I live in Nova Scotia, and I have been finding that it is very difficult to find different varieties of succulents and succulent supplies .

Most of my succulents have come from the local hardware store, and are in particularly pathetic shape, missing leaves, dropy, etc, but no abnormal colouring.
Last week, I bought some cactus soil (unfortunately, Miracle Grow was the only brand I could find at the moment) and a bag of perlite. I mixed it in equal portions, as I've seen many people recommend that as a basic succulent mix. I cleaned the old soil from the roots of the succulents and then left them for three days before I gave them a nice deep water. All of my pots have drainage, and I'm trying to get them all into breathable terra cotta, however, several days later the soil still feels quite wet and some of my succulents outer leaves are starting to yellow and feel a wee bit squishy. I know this is a drainage issue, and I'm freaking out! I don't want to kill them!! Oh, goodness, I would cry!

Can anyone help me figure out what a better soil mix would be? Its been quite rainy in Nova Scotia and the air is quite damp, so I'm thinking I need more gritty soil. I don't want to have to outsource materials, because shipping gets quite expensive.