SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
paradise1alcove

What is happening to my Hosta (rhino hide)?

Paradise Alcove LLC
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hello fellow hosta friends,

I purchased a 4 inch pot Rhino Hide from Gilbert Wild and Sons last year... It survived the winter (yay!) planted in the ground in a shaded woodland garden area in northern New Hampsire. I am a newbie to "real gardening" (real gardening is my idea of = love, interest, concern and caring if things die or thrive type of gardening). Lots of learning through forums and trial and error.

Everything seemed to be flourishing well for hosta Rhino Hide from spring into summer... In late June, before going out of town for 2.5 weeks, I applied Milorganite and a pellet form of slug bait (my first time using this since I would not be around to hand pick the slugs)... I returned to see sick and dying leaves, and the eyes easily are plucked off/ fall off the crown of the main Rhino Hide. This has only happened to the Rhino Hide Hosta.

Is this leaf death from dehydration?( I left the hostas to tough it out with whatever rain would fall. Chemical reactions? Disease?

To be clear, the holes in the leaf are not the issue- I have tons of slugs and snails to battle. But I am wondering perhaps the stem/leaf death is because of a slug or snail eating the eye at the base causing the leaf to die?

But then again, I saw no evidence of that... but then again the eye (stem) just fell off the crown when I touched it to examine it. 2 "sick" stems/eyes fell off the main plant.

Sorry for word "eye/stem" usage if it is incorrect.

Any ideas? Suggestions?

I have open ears to learn and much gratitude for any help.

Thanks in advance :)

Comments (26)

• PRO
    Paradise Alcove LLC
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Could it be Sclerotium/Southern Blight with stem rot?

• Babka NorCal 9b
    6 years ago