SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
strawberrysuede

Child's First Veggie Garden Help!

strawberrysuede
6 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I am new to vegetable gardening. I've been going through the threads for help. I decided to post for help!

I started a small 3'x3' raised bed garden patch in mid May with my little daughter. We also planted a few vegetables in containers. We are using a fabric raised bed and fabric containers. We also Kellog's Organic Potting & Raised Bed Mix in our raised bed and containers. I have put a slow release fertilizer when I set the bed and containers. We live in Maryland. The days can get pretty hot this time of year -- 80-90 degrees. The plants are placed in a sunny spot -- it gets 6-8 hours of morning to late afternoon sun. We planted some vegetables and herbs. I have a few questions.

We transplanted 4 everbearing strawberry starter plants into a 12" terra cotta pot. The leaves are green and there are new leaves sprouting from the crown. But I noticed the stems are red. Is this normal? I've read online red stems could be a sign of nitrogen deficiency. What can I do to help them? Is the 12" pot too small for 4 plants?

My daughter planted a squash seed in a 5 gallon fabric container. The squash seedling has sprouted up. I noticed the side leaves are slightly yellow. Is this caused by over watering? The leaves were wither-like during the days that are hot so we've been watering more frequently. The leaves are no longer wither-like but the lower rounded leaves have some yellow in them. What can I do to help this plant?