SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
yan_tao

Pruning/propogating New plants

Yan
7 years ago

Hi all! Got some new babies today, they look big in the photos, that pot is only 6 inches wide.

I'm gonna propagate this Graptopetalum. Now I'm thinking cut at the base of the long stem, just after that pup, and again at 2 inches below the rosette. Don't need the long stem because it can't stand and I don't have that much pot space when I repot them into a smaller pot.

However are these roots growing at the bend? Should I keep those?

As for basic propogating steps, it's snip, let it callous, plant and water, then water again when dry. How am I doing so far? Just want to be sure, don't want to mess up since its my first time propagating/pruning this heavily.

Comments (50)

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    7 years ago

Let it root before watering or it may rot. Water when you see signs of growth. Otherwise, sounds like a plan! Good luck!

Yan thanked Crenda 10A SW FL
  • Yan
    Original Author
    7 years ago

So only water when I see it popping new leaves? Won't it die before that though?

• Related Discussions

Prune canes on new plants now, or spring??

Q

Comments (4)