SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
breathnez

Stages of development in bonsai gardening

breathnez
7 years ago

What stages of developing as a bonsai artist/gardener can you describe as having gone through? This is all very unscientific, and maybe what I list others might not consider as true stages, but this post is about reflecting back and sharing your journey. Here's mine, mostly self-taught(meaning no formal training with a school or bonsai master, but credit must be given to a few books and MANY online websites, forums and images):

1. The movie Karate Kid. I saw bonsai development as a talisman to greater self-awareness. This period brewed for 20+ years, and was layered over by involvement in college, career development, marriage and raising children.

2. The excited bumbler. Just in the beginnings of midlife, my wife plopped a gift in front of me: a brush cherry twig in a bonsai pot from a local nursery. Perfect time to renew self-discovery. This lasted a few months, until a few bad choices in pruning and some bad watering techniques led me to...

3. The can I keep it alive? stage. Here there were many glances directed back and forth from work table to trash can. Here I did a marvelous thing: I bought a second stick in a pot. Now I had one looking good and one looking, well, misshapen. This is important later. This stage lasted less than two years, when fresh, strong growth started appearing on both in summertime.

4. The what the hay bale am I doing? stage. All my basic care and selected pruning was not producing a masterpiece. I had bigger sticks with some form to them. What kept me going over the next several years was a desire to not give up on them because I didn't want to give up on me. Note, the famous Co-Dependent No More, Whitfield's book Boundaries, and Bahai scriptures were in use as much as books on bonsai during this span.