SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brianknight1

Functional Fire Inside a Home?

Springtime Builders
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

In response to reader questions from Cp's thread on fireplaces I'm offering more thoughts on the paradoxical relationship of indoor combustion with current homebuilding practices and best options for those facing long term power outages.

I'm not a fireplace expert but have similar conclusions with many in the home performance industry that all-electric homes are safer and healthier for indoor air quality concerns. Tight homes are increasingly being required by law, a very good thing, akin to R-values and weather resistive barriers. The tighter you build, the more difficult it is to exhaust combustion. Just as building tight gives you control over comfort and moisture, control of combustion and it's pathway out offers better performance. Control is the idea behind tight homes and safely burning stuff inside.

There are many that require back-up for power outages but I think most don't. Asking neighbors can be a good way of gauging outage lengths. If using super insulated building envelopes or implementing passive solar design, you could probably ride out the most severe weather and outages in most climates without any backup heat.

If it's not for outage backup, and you simply need a space heater or extra capacity, mini-split heat pumps are tough to beat for their safety and life cycle costs.

For extremely windy, cold and remote sites, backup is necessary and woodstoves reign supreme for most budgets. If you can find the right mason or have deep enough pockets, a properly built masonry heater would be nice. I don't recommend building traditional fireplaces but John Gulland's Woodheat.org and hearth in a house as system is required reading for designers implementing chimneys. The successful fireplaces in tight houses from woodheat is a great overview with pictures.