SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
en_en_en

Weather Change effect to Calathea Roseopicta + Need Help

En En
7 years ago

Hello! I am new to this forum and I made a very long post earlier that is quite confusing.

I have calmed down know and I'll try to explain all the problems briefly unlike earlier when I was panicking. It is about my rapidly dying Calathea here:

(Latest picture taken at high noon)

Sorry for the blurry picture, my hands were shaking.

It was healthy before but it started dying just this Tuesday and it's now Thursday.

UPDATE 1: I have noticed that there are some insects flying around it, should I repot or check in the soil? I'm afraid...

UPDATE 2: I've noticed that since it's the cold season, the soil is still very damp even if the last time I've watered it was yesterday. That's bad, right?

I'm a college student that goes to school at night and I can't really monitor the plant as closely nowadays since my break ended.

The plant was nowhere near healthy when I bought it on the first week of August (it is still summer in our country back then and I was still on the break). The leaves were all curled and crunchy for having been having the same treatment as the succulents it was being sold with. I nursed it back to health by following instructions online like cutting the dead leaves and only dripping small amounts of water in the soil, bright area with no direct sunlight, so on and so forth.

This was what it looked like on August 31.

Everything online said to be wary of winter and since we have no winter here, I thought that the plant was safe. The cold wind only arrives in late September and continues until January.