SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
maryjozone5

Is anyone growing achimenes?

maryjozone5
7 years ago

this is my first year for growing these and just wondering if anyone on here is also growing them.

Comments (71)

• irina_co
    7 years ago

DB -

'Glory' was registered in the Gesneriad Society Registry as Achimenes

IR80211 1980 Achimenes 'Glory' unknown (R. Brumpton hybridizer) C. E. Spaugh

Since the registrant (C.E. Spaugh) did it for R. Brumpton, UK... there always a touch of doubt... on the other side if it comes from UK - these guys take it very seriously.

Probably one of these days the DNA analysis will be more accessible and it can be checked.

Just for appearance alone - Achimenes is a diverse genus - A. mexicana grows pretty much upright and barely trails, A. cettoana has narrow elongated leaves.. and so on and so forth... And A. misera looks like a weed with diminutive yellow flowers.

I.

• dbarron
    7 years ago

True, I've grown misera (and it isn't worth it for flowers). Yeah, maybe it's a cross species vs cross genera. Ok, I concede, with uncertainty.

• dbarron
    7 years ago

Ok, my achimenes is close to going down for dormancy. I'm going to venture at least three or four tubers were produced (small plant)...but every flower actually set seed. I think I may try to grow them out this spring (the seed). How'd yours do, Mary ?

• maryjozone5
    Original Author
    7 years ago