SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jason_jennings49

Need advice and comments on my Hydroponics Setup

Jason
7 years ago

Hello,

I had some Sears points that were going to expire and I decided to buy some "self watering" vertical pockets to try them out. I bought 14 of them for 42 plants. I was going to build a wall out of cedar and hang it on my deck railing and just do a traditional soil based wall system. While I was waiting for them to arrive, I started to learn about hydroponics. After receiving the product, I thought they could be used to make a hydroponic system, so I started to build a system. I got some directions from the manufacturer on how to make these self watering.

I am new to Hydroponics, so I wanted to run my setup by some people. I built a cedar frame and installed 12 of these on one frame. 3 sets (each set is 3 pods in one piece) on 4 rows. I then connected each row to each other using tubing. I tested this out and all rows fill with water and I believe I can maintain a level I desire by controlling the rate of flow. My plan is to fill the interior fill baskets with some sort of growing medium for the plant to take root. Then there will be a constant level of water in each pot, anywhere between 2-5" inches. Then I will circulate water using a tank and pump. As the water on the top fills, it will flow down to the next level ect, then back into the water tank. Here are a few pictures of the pots filled with water:

Here are a few pictures. One of me testing the flow. After getting the initial levels right, I added orange soda to see how the water would distribute from the top down and it seemed to spread well to all pods.

Here is a picture showing how it will be installed at my house: