SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
peasblog

Capital Connoisseurian, one year (almost) later...

peasblog
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I thought I would post my thoughts on my Capital now that I'm almost a year into using it/having it. I'm about a month away so close enough.
Before reading this there are two things to consider- I have no experience with other "high end" ranges, and two- I'm not a professional, I'm a home cook.

Wait, one more thing, I am NOT an english/grammar major.

We went with the 48 inch dual fuel, self cleaning. Six open burners and a grill on top.
I went with the dual fuel because it has a slightly taller oven and some reviews had said the other ovens were shorter and would scorch food when on broiler. No issues with broiling. We went with open burners because I wanted the higher BTUs for wok cooking. I've been pleased with that, I'm actually able to get a blister on my green beans!

what it looks like in the space -

Thoughts on the ovens.

-all glass on the top and bottom, none of the heating elements are exposed (electric ovens, gas cook top). It's very easy to wipe them down when needed and there's no wiping around parts. there is still a convection fan in both ovens so it's not completely enclosed in glass, but cleaning has been easy. I think I have used the self clean once, on the smaller oven. A note on that- you can only self clean one oven at a time.

-The smaller oven on the left gets used the most, I can fit quarter sheets in there just fine and I've used three sheets in there to bake cookies with the convection feature. No uneven heating that I have noticed.

-The larger oven is a great size and I do use them both.They don't heat up the house or anything like our last oven did. Both ovens have a fan that kicks on to help cool it down (this is one of my DH's complaints, he feels this fan is ridiculously loud- I don't know that it is, it doesn't bother me, It's not louder than our vent hood on high)