SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
isgen

Hi! New here + plant identification

isgen
8 years ago

Hi there! My name is Israel and I'm in zone 4b in southern Québec. This is my first year growing a vegetable garden and was given a few hot pepper plants early in the season. Two are supposed to be Scotch Bonnets, two are an ornamental variety with small green-purple leaves, purple-blue flowers and small (about 0.375" long) egg-shaped purple-black pods. The fifth plant, I was told was an "Italian pepper". To me, it looks more like some sort of Thai ornamental or Piri Piri (African Bird's Eye). I just can't figure which it most closely resembles. What I'm certain of is it being a variety of Capsicum Annuum. Here's a shot:

This picture (not a great angle, sorry!) is from a couple of weeks back. It's currently about 8" high, fairly bushy, with 5 mature, but unripe, pods, ranging from 1.5" to 2" in length, and a few smaller ones that just popped out. Any idea on what plant I have? The larger pods have lots of dark pigmentation (normal reaction I hear) after having been all-green. They have yet to show signs of changing colour.

The above plant and the Scotch Bonnets were out in the garden for a while, but I potted them as weather conditions were fairly crappy outdoors, with many cloudy days and very cool nights. I used a mix of fir bark, perlite, sphagnum peat moss, top soil and compost, which seems to drain quite well. I have them indoors under a 42W daylight CFL for about 15 hours a day. The Scotch Bonnets were not growing much outdoors and one wilted and died. The second is growing well indoors, if slowly, and looking healthy. It has yet to bud, but that's OK.