SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
fishermen11

What's happening to my pumpkin leaves

fishermen11
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hi everyone.

I'm new to gardening and one of the first things I wanted to try was growing pumpkins. I saved and stored the seeds that I took out of the pumpkins I bought last year and planted about 11 of them on July 1st. 8 of the 11 sprung out after only 7 days (pretty surprised considering the seeds have been stored for almost a full year). Anyways, after a few more days, the remaining seeds germinated and I pulled out the smallest ones leaving the 5 biggest, healthiest looking plants. I realized I had planted them to close together so I transplanted some of them and they just exploded. After 30 days I had leaves bigger than a catchers mitt and vines 3 feet long.

I fertilized with higher nitrogen to make sure I had good growth and the plants just seemed so green and growing fast. About 2 weeks ago I finally started to see the first female buds on the vines and counted 1 on each of the 5 plants. Up until a week ago the plants were fine but then I noticed the leaves were starting to change from green to yellow and some started developing yellow/brown spots. It started with the older leaves, but the new ones on the vine were green and healthy. Fast forward to today and all of the older leaves on all five plants are suffering from this something bad. I did start to notice some powdery mildew but I used the milk/water mix to try to control it, only to go to Daconil a few days ago.