SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cunhao

Cherry tree - leaves yellowing and falling off

cunhao
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hello, I am new to the tree and gardening. I just moved into my first house in CA and I planted a 4-in-1 cherry tree 3 weeks ago. The tree is young, about 4 to 5 feet tall.

Recently I notice that the leaves are getting yellow and falling off. I don't see any sign of new leaves coming out, and I don't see the tree growing. On some branches, the yellow part starts from the center of the leaf. On some other branches, yellow starts from the edge as you can see from my photos.

When transplanting the tree, I put some mixed peet moss, garden soil, chicken manure (about 1/8 of the soil that I used) from Home Depot, couple of handful 3-1-1 fertilizer from Costco, together with mulch on top around the tree, with some distance to the trunk.

I just took care of the tree normally, watering the tree twice a week. The weather is around 92F at peak. The tree gets plenty of sun. I dug a little to check the soil. It's not very dry, but not wet either. I didn't use any insecticide.

If there is anything I can do to save it or if you need anymore information please let me know. I appreciate any responses. I have included some photos below.

Comments (13)

• parker25mv
    8 years ago

Could it be overwatering? If the soil is not well drained, you have to be careful watering. They certainly need consistent water in a dry climate, but too much at one time is not good for the roots.