SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tinyt74

Not sure who will leave first me or my step son.

tinyt74
8 years ago

Every summer for the past 9 years, my step son comes and spends the summer with us. Most people spend the summer relaxing, going on vacation, enjoying the weather and Happy. I spend the month if not 2 before summer begins in sheer panic: I stop eating, I cry and feel like my body is inside out. Then the day comes when my husband picks him up....a 18 hour drive round trip. I basically do not breathe for the full 24 hours before he arrives back home.

Let me go back a bit. I met my husband when his son was 2. Because he needed someone to watch him while he went to work one night. We had a mutual friend who asked if I could help out. I was a teacher and many years of experience with kids...still work with kids in a variety of settings today. I and his son were great friends....he actually would ask to stay at my home when he visited his dad. All was good. One could even say his son was the reason we started dating and eventually ended up getting married.

The trouble did not seem to come up until his son started school, and do to the distance between our home and his moms....he could only visit during the Summer.