SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hostatakeover

Stiiiiinnnkking Voles!

Anyone else deal with voles? I've never had issues with them before but this year my big Hosta bed is under attack.

I've already lost Charity, Lederhosen and beautiful Bridal Falls so far, and many others are badly damaged. Hadspen Blue is likely next to die, it's so chewed up. I've been out in the garden and could actually HEAR the varmints gnawing on the roots of a nearby Hosta while the Hosta vibrated from the activity.

I began addressing the problem with Victor mouse traps and got one on my first try. Turns out I got their village idiot and now only the smart ones are left. So I graduated to DCon rat and mouse killer, then on to poison "peanuts" for moles and gophers, all to no effect.

I would rather just use the traps but peanut butter doesn't work. It's so hot and humid here now that the peanut butter just melts off the "tongue" of the trap and into the vole hole. Does anyone have any suggestions on bait or other methods? The stress is building, as everyday despite all efforts I just keep finding new vole holes inside more Hostas.

Comments (82)

• in ny zone5
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

ut2nc, voles are meadow mice with another name, they are endangering crops in many areas of the US. I bet farmers are killing them in huge numbers. I have seen 1 dead house mouse and one dead shrew outside in my 28 years I am gardening here, never any half eaten ones, only complete ones. They seem to die in the ground. My voles seem to live in a large mount of lawn clippings my neighbor in the back established years ago about 15 ft from my fence. In that area I had hostas shrinking in size or die. Cats probably eat them, but I have never seen a sick predatory animal, no neighbor has complained to me.