SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jasoncarter

My Succulent Collection Needs Expert Advice

J Carter Gainesville, FL 9A
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hello Growers,

I've been growing succulents for several years in Gainesville, FL. I have Jades, Echeverias, Aloe varieties, Fred Ives Graptoverias, Haworthias, Plumerias, and a few others. My success has been inconsistent even though I've tried many mixes, pot sizes, and propagation techniques.

Early on, I identified the problem with "cactus mix" and/or sand. I discovered the Gritty Mix and subbed "Soil Perfector" for Turface and used pink bark fines with dust removed. I couldn't find granite so I used pea gravel. All substrates were rinsed thoroughly. Since I don't have a compost supply, I probably tossed in some Pro Mix my wife had. One year I potted three Fred Ives in pure Pro Mix and they looked spectacular until the mealies found them. I have other Freds growing out of a small cardboard box and an empty clay pot. These are just shameful neglects after cutting.

Mealies and rot are seemingly my biggest threats. I've lost a lot of plants starting about this time of year when the summer rains hit. By August, my collection starts looking really depressing. I have some well documented seasons in my photo collection if anyone's wants to gander.

There have been times when everything looks great. Usually, around the cooler months the plants seem to thrive. I researched dormancies and determined that many of my plants are summer dormant, so that gives me some hope. I live in Florida which is not ideal for succulents due to our hot and humid summers, but I'm hoping to find a solution to keep them going until the fall.