SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kbreese72

Need advice for Green Giant planting on Long Island.

Kevin
8 years ago

Hi All - I recently ordered (20) 18-24” Green Giants from
the Botany shop to create a privacy screen along the inside of the fence line
on the right side of my back yard. The lawn on that side of the yard is currently sparse and
mostly weeds and dirt/sand right now. I live on Long island (NY) and the soil
is fairly sandy. I was going to rent a tiller from HD and till the whole
planting/mulching area, which will be about 8 ft. wide and 120 ft. long and I have
some questions:

1.) Do I need to put down roundup on the entire area
to kill all the weeds and grass, or can I just till the area as is, tearing up
and mixing in the grass and weeds into the soil. Again, it's quite sparse so I don't think a tiller will have trouble ripping through it, but I am not sure....I've never used a power tiller before. And I'm not sure if the torn up weeds and grass will have any negative effects on the young tree roots, etc. For the record there is a lot
of dandelions there right now.

2.) Is it ok to use regular fairly inexpensive natural brown mulch
(Ground hardwoods) or should I look for a bark mulch or some other kind?

3.) Should I use 2” or 3” depth of mulch.(I read
somewhere it’s not good if it’s too deep because it’s more prone to harboring
insects etc., but other sources say to use 3” of mulch)

4.) I am not sure about the quality of the soil, I
only know it’s pretty sandy, but from what I have read (And despite the Botany
shop’s directions) I shouldn’t fertilize them until after they are well
established, and just make sure to keep them watered until then. Should I skip the fertilizing
or go with what they recommend which is osmocote 14-14-14 slow release
fertilizer in the quantities they specify. (2 TBSP each)

5.) How deep should I till?

On a side note, Michelle @ The Botany shop was not supposed