SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
violetwest

About those tattoos and piercings

violetwest
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

decided to start a new thread, as it really wasn't pertinent to the Bed Bath & Beyond thread. I have many tattoos and piercings, including a full back piece, and can answer any question you may have, in case you are curious.

A couple of things: I am a professional woman, so I keep my visible modifications pretty minimal. My ear lobe piercings are stretched -- but not very far. I have tattoos on my feet and one ankle so try to wear hose or pants at work.

I got my first tattoo years ago and my initial motivation was to put something beautiful on my body of my choice, to counterbalance the extensive scarring I have from a burn injury. And then people were getting tongues and other things pierced, and I thought I never would. And then I did! In fact, I am a patron member of the Association of Professional Piercers, which educates and advocates, and collaborated with one of the most famous body piercers in the world on a comprehensive book about body piercing.

Motivations are all over the place -- from fitting in, to standing out; from sexual enhancement to pure aesthetics; to rebelling and for shock value, or for reclaiming one's body after a sexual assault. Every person has a different reason, even if it's just, "I like it."