SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
emilygreenie

Questions about repotting container grown citrus

emilygreenie
9 years ago

Hi all, I am a complete newbie but I have taken great pleasure in browsing around this forum for many hours over the past few days. I just have a few questions because I am so clueless and everything that I am reading is so overwhelming and I feel like I am not getting very far in my research. If anyone has time to help me out or even could refer me to some specific older posts, that would be great and very much appreciated.

As a little background, I live in St. George, UT which is I believe is an 8b zone. It is extremely hot here in the summer (similar to Las Vegas) but gets too cold in winter nights to plant in ground.

I just bought a Bearss Lime and an Oro Blanco that are probably 4-5 years old, in 14" containers. They are both getting a lot of new leaf buds growing right now. They came from Home Depot. I also got a Dancy Mandarin and a Valencia Orange from our local nursery. They are probably 2-3 years old and look very healthy with a lot of new growth and some flowers on the Valencia. They are in 5 gallon black nursery containers. I guess my first question would be, is now a good time to re pot the trees?