SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
david_weeks93

How do you Know When a Cutting has Developed

I coordinated with an extremely helpful gardenweb member to obtain some cuttings, and I think some have taken root, but I am uncertain what the best course of action is from this junction. This is my first attempt and trying to propagate roses. Previous attempts with other plants last year failed due to rot I am guessing.

First what I did:

I got the cuttings from roughly the Uplands CA area back during the last week of January around the 26th. I am in Boise ID (6a-7 -ish). Our last official frost date is usually in May, but usually the weather is quite nice much earlier than that, and this year has been quite warm. Basically, I think we are pretty much past regular cold/frost weather, but ...... yea, as soon as you guarantee it we'll get a spring blizzard.

I used a couple slightly different methods on the nearly 120 cuttings of about 8 different roses. All but about 16 were set up using the "burrito" method, wrapped in barely moist newpaper/paper towel, and set in a cool area of my house near a dark window in the hopes of keeping it in the 60's. About half were just placed directly in the paper, and the other half scraped at the base and dipped in hormone. Overall I had a pretty decent rate of callousing (most had at least some, though not as pronounced as some of the pictures from Kim (rosecreek) after the 2 weeks.

The 16 were just placed directly in potting soil next to an east window. For reference, my African violets do great in the east window and bloom most of the year, but it was a bit too shady for my orchids/hibiscus, to give an idea of the conditions.