SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
funnelweb

Lamium galeobdolon 'Herman's Pride'

funnelweb
15 years ago

See attached pic. Is there any Lamium experts out there who can confirm that this is L. G. 'Herman's Pride' or in fact L. 'Florentinum'. I know it is sold in nurseries on the rare occasions it is available as Herman's Pride, but my reference, Botanicas Pocket Annuals and Perennials, seems to suggest it might be in fact L. Florentinum. It describes Herman's Pride as having "narrow leaves, streaked and spotted with silver". Mine seems to be broader in the leaf and not as pronounced with 'streaking' silver. It looks a bit different to the picture in the reference. Any information please.

{{gwi:2114385}}

Comments (13)

• User
    15 years ago

I am no expert and I have never seen it before, so I did a search and I would say yours is Lamium galeobdolon 'Herman's Pride' if you look at the pics of the leaves of Florentinum they are nothing like your one.

Florentinum leaves have the silver colour only on the edges on the leaf and green in the centre..

I noticed also that this one and others go under the name of Lamiastrum galeobdolon 'Florentinum' not Lamium ? as you will see on this link below.. Maybe there has been a name change and some have not caught up with it..

I don't know if its much help. But if you google Images there are plenty on line to compare with.. Which could confuse you all the more with the markings on the leaves and the shapes...

Cheers... Mary-Anne

Here is a link that might be useful: Lamiastrum galeobdolon 'Florentinum'

• funnelweb
    Original Author
    15 years ago