SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lisa616_gw

Desperate backsplash help...tile came in..ugh.

lisa616
12 years ago

Help! I ordered my tile and it all came in today. Unfortunately, when I laid it out...I don't like it! I originally was going to get the darker tile, but played it safe and went light. I don't feel like it does anything for the cabinets. Not sure what to do. I paid a stupid amount for shipping...but, I'd rather suck it up and get it right than have this installed and not like it. Any ideas? I love the glass subway look....just not digging the color. It almost gives off a green hue..weird. I'd greatly appreciate any ideas!!

Comments (24)

• chris11895
    12 years ago

So just to clarify, the subway tile is what you ordered and don't like? And the small tiles are the color you wish you went with? If you paint behnid the tiles a dark color will that help? I have no experience with glass tiles, but I think the color they're installed over can make a difference. Maybe someone else will chime in and either confirm or deny that for me....

• lisa616
    Original Author
    12 years ago

That's an interesting question....not sure. The tile has a white backing on it..so I don't know if a paint color would come through or not. I love the glass subway tile...yes, the little squares are the darker color I wished I of gone with. I'm thinking maybe of coming up with a design where I can use some light and buy some dark. Therefore, not having to return all the tile. I love the 3.6 size...those little squares were all I had originally. I have 2 3x6 tiles in the darker color coming in the mail tomorrow. That'll help. Or...I scratch the whole plan and start over :(

• decordummy_gw
    12 years ago