SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
marg42

Ain't too proud to beg GW:) Layout help please!

marg42
12 years ago

I'm a layout amateur and I'm not afraid to say it :). Many thanks to GW for all your amazing advice. I've been thinking about this kitchen/1st floor remodel for over a year and reading as much as I can on GW. We're planning to start the kitchen demo in January (and the rest of the first floor in July/Aug). Just some details:

1. Older house - 7'9" ceiling (biggest challenge!)

2. Am going with a custom cab maker - inset/painted cabs (thinking about beaded detail around openings, slight routing/beveled on recessed panels- not 90 degree shaker edges; no exterior hinges

3. Looking for an East Coast style - family is orig from NY so Long Island/Hamptons/Nantucket look (white, simple, charming, classic)

4. Only requirement structurally is a pass-through door (ie., pocket door) into TV room

5. Challenge: Want the range/hood to be a focal point - not sure about 36" Wolf range- is it proportional with the space?; Could go with the larger 48" gas Wolf but wondering if I'll ever use that little 18" lefthand oven

6. Have 4 zones: Cooking, Prep (w/tiered countertop), Clean-up and Island (for casual dining/homework)

7. Space is approximately 15 feet by 21 feet

8. Hopes/dreams: Good transition from kitchen to dining room area (and library); dramatic range; great hang-out space for family and friends; durable but beautiful; serene (at least some of the time)

9. Finishes planned (so far): 3 cm Caesarstone "Raven" - a shiny dark gray color for countertop (Ina Garten's 2009 House Beautiful countertop); Calacutta marble (as a slab backsplash or in random smaller squares) - or off-white glossy subway tile as a warm contrast to cool countertops; soft white painted cabs; different knobs for dif zones (like elizpiz's amazing kitchen)