SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
anny_2009

Kitchen sink: SS or Cast iron?

anny-2009
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

For my kitchen sink, I don't know what to choose: Stainless steel or Cast iron. At first, I chose SS because I have SS appliances, but I notice that it's quite difficult to keep my SS appliances clean & without scratch or blunt!!! Please give me some feedback! Did you regret when you switched from cast iron to SS sink? Customer report rates cast iron higher than SS, but I'd like to hear from you, the "real" customers. I have no experience with either SS or cast iron.

In addition, is it true that SS is SS, the brand doesn't mater? I saw my sister's Frankie changed color, my friend's Elkay became dull but my aunt's Kohler still looks good after 3 years used!!! How about Ticor? I never see a Ticor sink here in California. What happens if after some years the manufacturer stops produce their sinks? Once I cut my granite to install a undermount sink, and if the sink gets damaged, I have to stay with the branch, I cannot switch to another one because each branch makes its own dimension & shape, unfortunately.

I appreciate all your feedback. New sink installed always looks nice, but how about after 2-3 years?

Comments (19)

• erikanh
    14 years ago

Have you considered fireclay? I had a white cast iron Kohler sink in my old kitchen and hated it because it got black marks on it so easily from pots and pans. My white fireclay sink doesn't get those black marks and is so much easier to keep looking nice.

I also have a SS prep sink and fori is right about water spots. We have mildly hard water and I'm always wiping water spots off the prep sink to keep it looking good.

• Related Discussions

Does anyone have Kohler Black N Tan cast iron kitchen sink?

Q

Comments (1)
    I've seen this sink in person, and it is beautful. I don't have it, but I think it would be fairly easy to keep clean because it has a texture to it.
    ...See More