SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
timaran

Advice on cabinet refacing?

timaran
14 years ago

Hello All, newbie here.

I am planning to reface my kitchen cabinets. Currently, they are covered in the oh-so-eighties almond something veneer with the oak trim at the bottom as a pull. Words cannot express my loathing. At least the cabinets themselves are made of real wood, not particle board which is why I don't want to just rip them out (my budget precludes new all wood cabinets). I *think* I want a painted cabinet (warm, creamy white).

My question: what is your opinion of the self-adhesive veneers that you apply over your existing cabinet fronts (marketed as a diy way of refacing)? I've been reading on some forums that they can delaminate after a few months and that many people are dissatisfied. On the other hand, what is another alternative? Do professional refacers cut thin veneers and apply with a stronger glue which could then be painted? Any thoughts or advice?

Oh, I plan on having new doors made--I just need to cover the "boxes" of the cabinets. Thanks in advance.

Comments (25)

• User
    14 years ago

Live with what you've got at least 6 months to get an idea of how it really functions. You may find out that you hate how the kitchen works, and if you've spent money on rehabbing it, you'll feel imprisoned to living with it.

Professional refacing is often MORE expensive than new cabinets. The doors and the face frames are the most expensive part of any cabinet. That's the only part of any cabinet that is actually solid wood. Plywood boxes are no more solid wood than are furniture board ones, and you should do a forum search to educate yourself. Good quality furniture board box cabinets will still be better quality than poor quality plywood box cabinets.