SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
la_koala

Ques re specifying 'PVC sub-sill nosing'? macv? mightyanvil?

la_koala
13 years ago

Hi,

If I have the construction specs say:

"For the windows to be installed, add PVC sill nosing from Advanced Trimwright or a similar product to improve waterproofing"

Would that be a clear way of stating this so an experienced builder would have all the info he needs on that point?

Background

We're doing a remodel, including new Marvin Ultimate Clad Double-Hung windows. A search of GardenWeb brought results where macv and mightyanvil made comments about nail-fin windows and adding sill nosing.

I'm 'just' the homeowner, so I'm looking for the right way to communicate what I've read here. I'm not a window expert--I'm only trying to avoid any pitfalls that I can ahead of the game.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (3)

• macv
    13 years ago

You probably don't need to mention waterproofing except perhaps to say "seal joint between window sill and sub-sill with paintable silicone (or urethane, etc.) sealant.

The sub-sill should extend beyond the window frame at each side far enough for the vertical jamb trim to stop against it.

The siding should be installed under the sill-nosing so that the drip groove in the nosing projects beyond the surface of the siding. Sealant at the siding to sill-nosing joint might be appropriate too.

Flashing would be in the flashing spec or window installation instructions. Paint would be in the painting spec.

Advanced TrimWright, Inc. makes two sill profiles: standardSILL and historicSILL. Older double-hung windows had very large projecting sills which is why many of them are still functioning today and will probably be around long after a lot of modern nail-fin windows are replaced. Modern windows are intentionally designed so that the sill only projects as far as the jambs of the frame. This is easier to fabricate and also easier to put in a box for shipping.