SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
homersmom

Would you choose an arbor, pergola, or nothing ?

homersmom
13 years ago

We are having a little landscaping done, and I've always wanted a pergola or an arbor. My landscaper drew up a plan for a pergola over the little deck, but because of the transom windows, he has to go higher and I'm not thrilled with the plan given the slider overhang. Another option would be to put an arbor over the steps down to the patio. I'm having a hard time envisioning this, but thought I'd put it out there for any opinions. My other option is to just do what I've been doing for several years - lots of pots. There aren't too many right now since we're going to have the work done in the next couple of weeks. This deck has never looked "finished" to me, so I'm open to any suggestions. We are definitely putting in new flooring (wood-tone) as well as new fascia boards and stair risers (white). Here are a couple of pics looking at the deck from the patio, and looking out onto the yard from the deck. Thanks for any suggestions you may have!

{{!gwi}}

{{!gwi}}

Comments (59)

• User
    13 years ago

Thanks. We were posting at the same time so I didn't see your question. I redid the first drawing and "replaced the original" on photobucket but it didn't change it here so here's a bit of color to maybe help you understand what I was thinking of.
    {{!gwi}}
    The red lines are added pieces in front of the transoms so you could work around, in front of, the transoms. You'd attach the blue colored slats to the red colored piece that would be attached to the slats on either side of it shown in green. Those slats would be attached to the house just as all the others slats are.
    I'm not sure that would be strong enough so you might want to attach brackets on either side of the door against the house to strengthen those slats. Like I said I'm not sure it would work, but if you really want a pergola without going higher it might be worth asking about.