SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
marilyn_c

Update #6: Crazy Cat Lady

marilyn_c
11 years ago

Putting this one up early. I put a lot of pics in it and want to see if the post will handle them all.

Crazy Cat Lady

I got a phone call one day, and this lady said, "I heard you are an expert on feral cats." I said, "No I'm not. I rehab possums and I have some cats, and I am an expert on waterlilies (if anything) but not on feral cats."

Then she told me about a fancy, gated townhome complex in Houston. It was next to a park and people had abandoned cats at the park. The cats were coming over to the townhomes. Some ladies had trapped the cats and had them spayed/neutered, but they didn't want to release the cats back in the park because they would just come back to the townhomes. Was there any way that I could take them?

Oh, Lord. (My first thought was "how did you get my phone number???") I thought about it and told her okay. The next day I went to Houston and brought back several cats. A week or so later, another lady called me who lived in the town homes and she asked me if I would take 3 cats if she had them spayed. And then another lady called who wanted me to take a cat.

So the city kitties became country cats. Only one has tamed down enough that I can pet him...most of them have tamed a little...they no longer run when they see me and will let me get close enough to feed them.

One of the shelters that I work with (picking up possums and wildlife) asked me to take some cats that were unadoptable for various reasons. Pluto had been adopted but was brought back because the lady who adopted him said he attacked her in her sleep. Noooo way that cat attacked anyone. I think she changed her mind and made up an excuse, but because that was her excuse, he stood to be put down, "for fear he would attack someone else."

They gave me Stars and Stripes....they had been there since they were small kittens...brothers...no one had adopted them.