SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
denise_gw

Wanting some input...

Denise
16 years ago

This is my first time on the pet forum. (I'm a real active member of a couple other GW forums...) We've had German Shepherds for about 20 years - one at a time. We lost Remo, who was almost 9, to cancer last Nov. and shortly after (I was SO terribly heartsick, I needed a new baby...) shortly thereafter. She's a love-muffin, but has also been a terror at times (when we're gone...) So here's my question...

What's the consensus about one dog verses more than one dog? Does having more than one abate the destruction? I'm not asking for a lecture on crating my dog, so please don't go there! I know (intellectually) that this would be the ideal circumstance. But it just doesn't feel right to me, so please - just answers from those who let their pets "free range" in their homes.

I've been trying to convince my hubby for years that one more dog would probably minimize damage becuase they are, after all, pack animals, and need companionship. When we're not here, our lone dog goes a little nuts...

Thanks for your feedback, folks. There's no group of people better than pet-people!!

Denise in Omaha

Comments (23)

• laurief_gw
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Well, it really depends on the dogs involved and why your current dog is displaying the destructive behavior. A second dog may learn destructive behavior from your first dog, thus doubling the destruction when you are gone. OR the second dog may set a much better example and keep your destructive dog's mind off of destruction in your absence. It could go either way.