SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
silver_wolf60

New fish tank given to me, with sand in bottom, advice required

silver_wolf
16 years ago

Hi there,

I was lucky enough to be given a tank full of fish a week ago by a lady who had been looking after them for someone for the last year or so. The man in question never came back for them and so I have them. The lady admits she knows nothing about fish and has done nothing more than put in dried flakes once a day. I am currently studying all i can get to learn how to take care of them as I am a newbie but remember enough from my child hood to keep the fish alive. (my mother had fish)

The tank had never had a water change, no cleaning had been done and all the plants and rocks had a very thick layer of algae on them. The filter was also clogged up and barely working, the outside thermometer was also not working.

She handed me a small bucket with all the fish in it with no heat followed by the tank! amazingly enough all survived!

Obviously the water has now been changed completely, I threw away the majority of the plants and bought all new and cleaned everything, apart from one large plant,and a couple of the rocks which i have kept to accomodate a pleco who likes to eat the algae.