SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
edmasbetsy

Budget

edmasbetsy
13 years ago

Hello,I am a newbie and stressed already, I may be posting every day, I have so many questions. I am planning a galley kit renovation, that inc moving a non bearing wall to give us another 9-10 inches. It doesnt sound like a lot, but right now the width is about 3ft. We plan on staying in the home 5yrs, have lived there 23yrs so we know how precious another 10 in would be. I could spend as much as 30K, but feel that this is too much considering the avg home price right now for my neighborhood is about $165. How does one decide how much is too much?

Comments (13)

• enmnm (6b)
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It's too much if you don't have the money to do it, or want to spend the money on other things.

Will the appraised value of your home increase by the amount of the renovation? Unless your house is a dump, probably not. Will it pay off in 5 years if you decide to sell? Who knows.

A new kitchen, like a new bathroom, past a certain point, is like a vacation. You won't get your dollars back on resale. But the ability to enjoy your space: priceless.

• User
    13 years ago

There was a discussion on this topic a while ago that you might find interesting:

Here is a link that might be useful: price of kitchens in the new age of revised expectations

• Related Discussions

How would you spend a $20k budget? A $15k budget?

Q

Comments (12)