SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rosemaryt_gw

I'm a Ham! :) - pictures

rosemaryt
13 years ago

Yesterday, I took the test to be a Ham Radio operator, Technician license. And I *passed*!!! I'm so happy! Man oh man, I did *NOT* find the test easy. I've read where people say the technician class license was easy-sneezy - but not for me! I studied intensely for four days, and was still nervous as a cat when I went to take THE TEST.

Overall, the test day was a fun experience because apparently, Ham Radio is mostly men. When I showed up, some of those guys looked at me like my hair was on fire. A couple fellows really did have the deer in the headlights look.

We were seated at large round tables and the examiner asked that "two or three people" sit at each table. At first, no one would sit with me! It was like being the odd kid in high school all over again. Then a couple nice gents (latecomers) came in and sat at the "Lady" table.

One of the examiners told me, "We don't see many women in here..."

I asked one of the guys if many women were involved in ham radio in Hampton Roads and he said, "Yes, my wife helps out when we have get-togethers." I thought that was pretty funny. I wanted to ask if my husband could help in the kitchen at the next get-together. ;)

When I saw all those guys, I started really sweating because I thought - if I don't pass this test, that'll be a blow to all of womankind!

Out of 35 questions, I got 33 right! I passed!

BTW, here's a sample of the questions:

What are the names of the two electrodes of a diode?

A. Plus and minus

B. Source and drain

C. Anode and cathode

D. Gate and base

What is the function of a mixer in a superheterodyne receiver?

A. To reject signals outside of the desired passband

B. To combine signals from several stations together

C. To shift the incoming signal to an intermediate frequency

D. To connect the receiver with an auxiliary device, such as a TNC