SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gitrdone_gw

return duct adequacy and plenum size?

gitrdone
13 years ago

Our evaporator coil is shot for our first floor system. New system to be installed soon.

Old system: Carrier 3 ton AC with 3.5 ton (1400 cfm's) Carrier 80% eff furnace. In the unfinished basement.

New system: Trane 3 ton XL15i with 3 ton (1200 cfm's) 60K XV95 2 stage (58K/37.7K) with 5" media filter cabinet.

During the bidding process, I asked sales folks about the adequacy of our ducts (all insulated and flexible). The consensus has been that our supply side seems ok, but the return side might be undersized None of the sales guys could say for sure. They want a technician to evaluate at the time of the install. Admittedly, I'm new to the wonders of the HVAC world and probably didn't ask enough questions. But, here's what I've been able to piece together so far. I really want to understand this situation better before a technician arrives and does an evaluation and offers advice.

SUPPLY plenum - insulated, sits on top of the evaporator coil (about 20"). It has two 12" (I think) ducts attached at opposite ends of the plenum. These ducts have a variety of splits.

RETURN plenum - not insulated, 24" wide. It has two ducts exiting the top of it. One has a starting collar of 12" (measured by me) and one does NOT have a starting collar.

Return duct #1 - This collarless duct appears to be 12" (per sales & my measurement) and runs 22 feet before splitting into three 10" ducts (I think). These 3 go another 6' max and exit at the baseboards on the sides of our center staircase in our foyer. I took the grills off these return vents and found 14" wide boots with 8" diameter nipples. Hope I'm using the right terminology.