Houzz Logo Print
tjg911

deleteing files

17 years ago

i'm using vista home premium edition 64 bit os.

i back up my word documents and my bookmarks off the pc. i have one copy of everything on a floppy disk and a second copy on a 2nd floppy disk.

when i delete a file off either floppy disk is that space freed up for use or is the file just marked as deleted but physically remains on the floppy disk? when i go to windows explorer the deleted file is not listed on the floppy disk but i suspect the deleted file is still on the disk but not shown because it is deleted.

i did a check of both floppy disks and the used space is 859k and the free space is 598k. i have about 1/3 of both floppies free to use but if i get close to filling them can i defrag the disks to free up the deleted files? i tried to defrag but it seemed my choices were either the c drive or all drives, i was not able to specify the a drive.

tom

Comments (2)

Sponsored
Peabody Landscape Group
Average rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars8 Reviews
Columbus' Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting