Houzz Logo Print
jaybird

Transferware dishes

jaybird
16 years ago

I thought this was interesting:

Transport yourself with transferware

BY MARY CAROL GARRITY

I have a theory about how transferware got its name. Now, I'm well aware of the official story behind how this popular dishware earned its moniker: To make it, craftsmen engraved a flat copper plate with a detailed design, inked the plate and pressed the image onto tissue paper, which was then transferred to the ceramic piece.

But I like to think that transferware was so named because the intriguing scenes depicted on these popular dishes transfer you to another time and place. That's what used to happen to me every time I studied my great uncle's set of transferware dishes.

When I was a kid, I loved visiting my great-uncle, a widower who lived just up the street. I was mesmerized by his collection of transferware. Studying the plates was like opening a storybook. I imagined what was happening in the scene depicted on the dishware, and in an instant, I was gone, lost in the story.

Perhaps it's transferware's magical ability to transport us somewhere else that has made it a favorite through the ages. If you'd like to include this delightful dishware in your home decor, here's how.

Invite it to Dinner You can't beat transferware if you're trying to set a table full of character. The secret to making the tablescape special is not to use an entire matched set on the table but to mix up just a few pieces of transferware with a host of dissimilar dishes.