SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rakegirl

First trip of the season

rakegirl
18 years ago

was a rousing success but not without its adventures. Woke up Wednesday at 5:00 to the sound of rain and when I went to rescue my shoes I decided to check my tarp set up (I'm an extreme novice at tarping) I realized it needed some adjusting to achieve maximum dryness and so I spent an actually pleasant 3 hours doing that, puttering about, drinking my tea by the fire, reading (I had mangaged to get the tarp over the fire area!) and listening to the rain. By the time the kiddos rolled out the rain was tapering off and they liked riding bikes in it anyway and by the time we cleaned up from breakfast it was pretty much over. We had a light and quick shower as we started on our afternoon hike, but then the sun came out and stayed out for the rest of the trip. My Coleman tent did beautifully again, my new dining screen tent did well, but I do wish they made a rain fly for that - oh well, my extra tarp served us well. Campsite was pretty mucky in spots, but nothing we couldn't walk around.

I did some more dutch oven cooking and even tried my hand at cooking with wood coals (I didn't bring enough briquets) and we discovered a new breakfast favorite - Rhodes carmel rolls. Ok they weren't from sratch but hey, the coals were :)